Assistant Professor, UC Riverside, 2018-Present

Assistant Professor, Ohio State Univ., 2012-2018


Ph.D. in Marketing, Syracuse Univ., 2012

M.S. in Statistics, Stanford Univ., 2007

B.S. in Industrial Management, KAIST, 2001

Research Interests

Quantitative Marketing, Advertising, Pricing, Product Design, Online Experiments

Journal Publications

Du, Rex Y., M. Joo, and Kenneth C. Wilbur (2018), "Advertising and Brand Attitude: Empirical Investigation of 575 Brands over Five Years," Quantitative Marketing and Economics, forthcoming.

Joo, M., Michael L. Thompson, and Greg M. Allenby (2018), "Optimal Product Design by Sequential Experiments in High Dimensions," Management Science, forthcoming.
Joo, M., Kenneth C. Wilbur, and Yi Zhu (2016), "Effects of TV Advertising on Keyword Search," International Journal of Research in Marketing, 33(3), 508-523.
Joo, M., Kenneth C. Wilbur, Bo Cowgill, and Yi Zhu (2014), "Television Advertising and Online Search," Management Science, 60(1), 56-73.
  • Winner, John D.C. Little Best Paper Award
  • Finalist, Frank M. Bass Outstanding Dissertation Award
Joo, M., Tridib Mazumdar, and S. P. Raj (2012), "Bidding Strategies and Consumer Savings in NYOP Auctions," Journal of Retailing, 88(1), 180-188.

Working Papers

Joo, M., Wendy Liu, and Kenneth C. Wilbur, "Divergent Courses for Liking vs. Wanting in Response to Sequential Persuasion."

Hardt, Nino, Youngju Kim, M. Joo, Jaehwan Kim, Greg M. Allenby, "Reconciling Stated and Revealed Preferences."
  • AMA ART Forum Best Paper Award
Joo, M., Kenneth C. Wilbur, and Dinesh K. Gauri, "Demand Allocation Effects of Product line Pricing with Advance Selling."

Awards and Honors
  • Best Paper Award, AMA Advanced Research Techniques Forum, 2017
  • Winner, John D.C. Little Award for the Best Marketing Paper Published in Marketing Science or Management Science, 2015
  • Finalist, Frank M. Bass Award for the Best Marketing Paper Derived from a Ph.D. Thesis Published in INFORMS journals, 2015
  • Procter and Gamble Research Grant (co-PI with G.M. Allenby), 2014
  • Haring Symposium Faculty Representative, Indiana University, 2014
  • All-University Doctoral Prize, Syracuse University, 2012
  • AMA-Sheth Foundation Doctoral Consortium Fellow, Texas Christian University, 2010
  • MSI-WIMI Research Grant (co-PI with K. C. Wilbur and Y. Zhu), 2010
  • Future Professoriate Award, Syracuse University, 2009